Now Let’s Talk About Jenifa

screenshot_2016-10-23-13-15-40

He he he,don’t blame me,I have been dying to get my hands on this series…Jenifa’s diary(diari).At first, I simply could not understand the craze behind everyone’s addiction until I actually sat down to see the series,and I am so so addicted.What I am gonna be doing today,you might call it a review,but I am just going to say what I think about the character Jenifa.

When she introduces herself,she says “My name is JEINVA”,this character is not just the funny girl we try to imitate in terms of speech,she is a character carefully built.Where do I start from?

Ok, Jenifa is a very funny grammarian,I have not seen anyone who has beat her to it in the field of speaking bad English,the way she pronounces her words are fascinating and has become a trend “hello,hows you?”,”jwice”,”jollop rice”,”facebook community,intagram society and twistter family”.

This is one character who is constantly trying to blend into the society,sometimes  I wonder,shey na by force but i realized, she is only  a mirror of our inner yearnings,admit it or not,we always want to be accepted in the society and it hurts when we are not noticed,I guess,that is the reason she constantly paid visits to the campus in the first season of the show ,this yearning has also led her into various adventures ,for instance her short adventure with Sasha(sasa) and co,when she went on her self-prolaimed rag day,the job hunt,her meeting Tiwa Savage and so many others.

I also see Jenifa as an intelligent though illiterate character, who wants to learn but somehow fails to do so,and as a result of her illiteracy,she ends up getting cheated from the small scale as in the time when she paid to join facebook,instagram and twitter to the large scale when Marcus led her into believing that he wanted to open a salon for her.The issue of illiteracy also got the better of her when she was cheated out of being Pepe’s manager.I learned that exposure is never enough,just never enough.

And dear Jenifa is one extravagant fellow,mehn,dem no dey tok that one,she is fond of saying “nina lo wo” which i believe means money is meant to be spent,haaaa,for Jenifa,another one go come,and funny enough,another one always finds its way into her purse,this extravagance is one of the main reasons I call her the ‘The voice of reason who ultimately  has no reason'(no offense Jenifa).

I love Jenifa because she is the friend everyone needs right now,I mean,where can you find a friend who will stand up for you the way  Jenifa stood up for Kiki against Austin,and is always looking for ways to help her friends,I would never accommodate a friend like Adaku(jeun ko ku dot com),and even allowed Dayo to pay the 500k she was owing,I pray ooo.Someone once told me Toyo can never stay without Jenifa again if it were to be in a real life situation,and I agree totally with her.The babe is always looking out for her friends.

And to the part i love the most,the girl has a totally  dramatic love life,chai,wetin sef,after pushing the best boyfriend any girl can have away from her life,I am talking about Sege,the guy is boyfriend material 500 yards,she went for Marcus,l reject every spirit of Marcus in my life IJN,now she ended up with Dayo,mehn,make the babe go do  better fasting ooo,because the matter don tire me sef.

Now to think this whole thing started with just a movie,I don’t know if you remember ‘sulia kan,ayetoro kan’…

 


4 thoughts on “Now Let’s Talk About Jenifa

  1. I started watching the series of Jennifer after graduation…that God I had not known it during my exams,I now knw why people catch the fever of this hilarious movie. I can tell you, ‘Gozi, I have never seen an hilarious movie as funny as this before

    Like

Leave a comment